20 September 2012


FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup Azerbaijan 2012 is underway. There are 16 qualified teams from each continental confederation taking part into the most prestigious women's youth football tournament in the world from September 22nd to October 13th. Gambia, Nigeria, and Ghana represent CAF; PR China, Korea DPR, and Japan represent AFC; UEFA is represented by Germany, France, and the host Azerbaijan; CONCACAF enters with Canada, United States, and Mexico; New Zealand become the sole delegation from the OCF; and CONMEBOL will go with Brazil, Uruguay, and Colombia. This year's biennial tournament is the third of the history after New Zealand 2008 and Trinidad & Tobago 2010.

After having had World Cup Qualifications, the 16 finalists will be divided into 4 different groups, in which none of the groups consists of more than one team from the same confederation. The group stage matches will kick-off on September 22, when Korea DPR taking on Gambia. The group drawings are as follows:

Group A : Azerbaijan, Colombia, Nigeria, Canada
Group B : France, United States, Korea DPR, Gambia
Group C : Mexico, New Zealand, Brazil, Japan
Group D : Uruguay, PR China, Ghana, Germany

It is unfortunate for Korea Republic (South Korea), the U-17 Women's world champions two years ago in Trinidad & Tobago, not to qualify the Azerbaijan finals this year. Furthermore, the bronze medal winner, Spain, will not also show up due to their loss in the European qualifications. However, Japan (the 2010 runners-up) and Korea DPR (the 2010 semifinalist) are still able to survive the current final tournament.

The matches will take place in two cities, Baku and Lankaran. All the groups play a round-robin system, in which the two top teams of each group will qualify to the knock-out stage, beginning with quarterfinals. The quarterfinals will start on October 4, the semifinals on October 9, the third place match and final match on October 13.

Host Cities at glace

BAKU (Source: Azerbaijani Ministry of  Tourism)
Baku is the capital of Azerbaijan and the country's largest city. It is situated on the Western Coast of the Caspian Sea in the southern part of the Apsheron Peninsula. Modern Baku boasts many industrial centres, with oil and gas extraction and petro-chemical, machine-engineering and metalworking industries all prevalent within the city's boundaries. The city is famous for its numerous historical monuments including the Maiden's Towers, Shirvanshahs' Palace, and the ancient Ateshgah Fire Tempel. The matches of the FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup Azerbaijan 2012 in Baku will be held at Dalgha Arena,Tofiq Bahramov, Bayil, 8 km, and Shafa Stadia. []

Lankaran is a small seaside city near the southern border with Iran and has a population of 45,000. The city was built on a swamp along the northern bank of the river bearing the city's name. Lankaran is commonly referred to as the land of citric plants. Pheikhoa, lemon, orange, mandarin, and other citric fruits are all produced in the area. The construction of the Lankaran Cannery for Fruits and Vegetable production was a big step in the development of this field. The matches of the FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup Azerbaijan 2012 in Lankaran will be held at Lankaran City Stadium. []

Complete match fixtures : FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup Azerbaijan 2012
Terima kasih kepada BelajarInggris.Net atas kepercayaannya memilih tulisan saya menjadi salah satu pemenang dalam Lomba Blog 2010.