20 December 2010

The Yogyakarta Royal Army at glance

photo credit :
Yogyakarta, one of the only two provinces given an exclusive status (Daerah Istimewa) by the government of Republic of Indonesia, has a long-standing history as a monarch. The province that as the official name of Kraton Ngayogyakarta Hadiningrat (The Honorable Royal Kingdom of Yogyakarta), similar to a sovereign nation, also has armies. They have existed since the reign of the first King, Sultan Hamengku Buwono I, dating back 1755. In general, the Yogyakarta Royal Army can be divided into two major divisions: infantry and cavalry divisions.

After being officially inaugurated by Hamengku Buwono I, the next King, Hamengku Buwono II, led the armies to fight the British Colonials (led by General Gillespie). A great battle occurred in 1812 between the British and the native armies. However, the Yogyakarta Royal Army later on was defunct during the administration of the 3rd King, Hamengku Buwono III due to an agreement with the British Colonials. The dismissal of the royal army took place on October 2nd, 1813 following the agreement between Thomas Stamford Raffles as the British Empire's General Governor in Java and Hamengku Buwono III. The agreement required that the Yogyakarta Royal Army was not allowed to build a strong armed force. The power was then limited and the function was no more than guarding the King and the Kingdom's inner circle.

The resurrection of the Yogyakarta Royal Army was evidenced during the two consecutive reigns, Hamengku Buwono VII and VIII. The army grew into thirteen units: Sumoatmojo, Ketanggung, Patangpuluh, Wirobrojo, Jogokaryo, Nyutro, Dhaeng, Jager, Prawirotomo, Mantrirejo, Langenastro, Surokarso, and Bugis. They remain exist until the present day, as people may see them during  special events such as Garebeg Mulud, Garebeg Besar, and Garebeg Syawal. The armed units usually gather in Alun-alun Utara (the North Square) of the Yogyakarta Kingdom.

Terima kasih kepada BelajarInggris.Net atas kepercayaannya memilih tulisan saya menjadi salah satu pemenang dalam Lomba Blog 2010.